Commonplace book pieces.

Here are pieces I have made to put into my commonplace book. I will add to this post the more I do.

Funny-you're-the-broken-one

Broken. Mixed media.

Taken from song lyrics that rang true to describe a situation I had just got out of. How you can look back on something with a clear mind once you have stepped away from it.

Heartbeats-final

Heartbeats. Mixed media and collage.

A happy piece about an unexpected collision.

29

29. Mixed media and collage.

At the moment, all of my friends are settling down, getting mortgages, having babies, getting married… I can’t think of anything worse than having something that would tie me to one place. I think society expects that when you are my age, these are the things you should be doing. It makes me feel like I am less adult and childish to be happy going to university and having plans to have no plans to settle somewhere and go wherever the wind may take me. But I’m happy that way.

dreamer-watercolour

People Say I’m a Dreamer, But I’m just sitting here. Watercolour.

Based on tattoos I have on my feet. They are a mix of two John Lennon songs, Imagine, which was my Granddad’s favourite song and Watching the Wheels, one of my favourites by him. Fear-More

A Fear of Failure. Collage.

I have high expectations for myself. I always have. There are things I want to achieve and do with my life. To be a successful illustrator and to travel the world are the two most important things to me.

Make-yourself-familiar-with-the-angels

Keep Yourself Familiar With the Angels. Watercolour.

This is based on a poem I have tattooed on my arm in memory of my Grandparents. It reads;

Keep yourself familiar with the angels and behold them frequently in spirit, For without being seen, they are present with you.

The idea, even though they are passed, there are parts of them that become who you are. Everything they taught you and their love, will always be with you.

read-my-mind

Read my Mind. Mixed media.

Taken from song lyrics that I have tattooed round my wrist; “I never really gave up on breaking out of this two star town”. Liverpool is definitely not a two star town, but I have always wanted to live in different places. This reminds me when I become complacent.

The-end

The End. Mixed media.

When sometimes there is nothing more to say because it has all been said before.

One thought on “Commonplace book pieces.

Leave a Reply

