Everyday Sexism; New Shoes.

My images have been slow in turn around due to reading for my dissertation. It’s frustrating me as the more I am reading, the more I want to create. I am in a good place with the dissertation at the moment, so I don’t want to disrupt the flow. However, my interest in subject has turned out to be completely in tune with my dissertation. I am still constantly feeding the knowledge into my practice.

My next piece has been based around a quote in the book; Everyday Sexism, Laura Bates. “As she expounded her tough stance on immigration she stood in shoes worthy of the front row at Paris fashion week”; The Guardian, on Home Secretary Theresa May.

I have played with a couple of different edits, not all great, but thought I would include the journey anyway. I started by adding a painted background colour similar to the last images but I felt it didn’t work. Perhaps this is because there was more communication in this image and it was swamped with the addition of paint. I wanted to use the line of ladies legs to reference the fashion show and create a horizon line. I added two people in suits (associated with men but are actually women and sitting in a suggested feminine pose) sitting on top in a judgemental fashion. The politician (I didn’t want to personally reference May) is sat on a chair, be it to hold the spot light or receive judgement. The image is of a young German girl who was crowned beauty queen in the 1920’s. I wanted the man in the suit who sits in a powerful pose juxtaposed with the girl to suggest femininity also.

After reading more on Hoch’s imagery, I can see how she challenged gender and stereotypes within society. She would assemble sexless subjects or place stereotypically female items within a masculine arena questioning society’s way of seeing.

New-Shoes-1

New-Shoes

New-Shoes-3

New-Shoes-2

For my final image I will choose the later image. I feel it relays the feeling of judgement. I am also aware I need to keep the background simple if there is a lot of photomontage. I chose to add coloured shapes looking towards each other in conversation rather than more photography. I wanted the right hand side to draw the image in so this would keep the left side lighter. The eye is showing the man is aware of the (unnecessary) judgement.

2 thoughts on “Everyday Sexism; New Shoes.

Leave a Reply

