Dissertation Progress.

I feel like I need to go back and re-read all of my notes and what I have already written for my dissertation. I was progressing rapidly with my reading and about to start my second chapter when Christmas came and I took a break to go home.

Before the break the research had gripped me and the more I read, the more fascinated I became with the whole social situation of Berlin at the time as well as Hoch’s life. There are numerous avenues to go down and research; both World Wars, sexism and the oppression of women, to name a few. I need to remember this is my problem; I run about trying to collect everything I can when I need to stay focused and remember exactly what it is I am stating. Everything I write about needs to support my opinion that Hoch’s work has a timeless quality and why I believe this. The other research can be picked up at a later date and I do believe I will continue with it beyond university.

I am really pleased with the way my research for dissertation and my (research for) practical work have met in the middle. Reading about Hoch’s work and life beyond Dada; her concerns with gender issues and her questions about society were as mine are now. It has become a lot more than looking to her work and process for inspiration, her means and intentions speak to me. Although my practical work has taken a back seat, everything I am doing to do with dissertation will help my work in the future. It as if the writing needs to be done to help my practical side and my work will become richer for it. Theory and practical are not two separate things running parallel, it is more of a circle.

Leave a Reply

